Supporting and enhancing the development of competence in neuroscience nursing

BANN Awards

The purpose of BANN’s awards is to recognize individual and team contributions to the fulfilment of BANN’s mission and strategy. The following Awards will be awarded to qualified applicants at the annual conference sponsored by Integra.

  • Best Poster award - 'The Bernie Selley Poster Prize' will be presented to the author or authors of a poster presentation that demonstrates excellence in neuroscience nursing.
  • Best Oral Paper this award will be presented to the author or authors of a written paper that demonstrates the achievement of excellence in neuroscience nursing.

Descriptor for Best Oral Paper Presentation Award

Descriptor for the Best Poster Presentation Award

2013 Oral paper winner was awarded to  – Jackie Tomlinson Ward Manager Addenbrookes. Cambridge
Title of paper: Rapid Access Acute Rehabilitation

2012 Oral paper Winner Ingela Oberg, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge.
Title of paper: ‘Elective Emergencies’- Is there such a thing? Transforming brain cancer care – The Cambridge model.

2012 Poster Presentation Winner: Lisa Tritton, Titleworth Neuro, (Specialist Brain Injury Services) Milberry House
St Leonards On Sea, East Sussex
Title of poster:  `The use of multisensory environment in acquired brain injury`

2011 Oral paper Winner: 

2010 Oral Paper Winner: - shared between:  
Mary E. Braine, Lecturer, School of Nursing & Midwifery, University of Salford  
Title of paper: 'Apathy' a common neurobehavioural problem 

Christina Golsdworthy and Natalie James, CNS Oxford John Radcliffe Hospital NHS Trust, Oxford
Title of paper: The development of a nursing assessment tool for patients with Myasthenia gravis 

2010 Poster Presentation Winner:- Lorife Nepomuceno Senior Staff Nurse Neurosciences, Oxford John Radcliffe Hospital NHS Trust, Oxford

2009 Oral Paper Winner: - Wendy Bennett,  MND Care and Research Centre, Royal Preston Hospital, Sharoegreen Lane, Fulwood, Preston PR2 9HT
Title of paper: The introduction of hospice nurse led clinics improves service access and access to palliative care for people living with MND

2009 Poster Presentation Winner: - Sally Marshall Stroke Specialist Nurse, Salford Stroke Project Team, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust, Salford. 
Title of poster: A quality improvement project to reduce door to needle time in thrombolysis for acute stro

2008 Winner - Emma Jackson and Karen Wilcock-Collins Leeds General Infirmary. Title of poster: Infection Prevention.

2007 Winner - Bernie Selley Outreach Lead Birmingham. Poster entitled “Neuroscience Outreach.”

The Society was founded in 1971 at Manchester Royal Infirmary as the British Society of Neurosurgical Nurses (BSNN). ┬áThe Society changed its name to the British Association of Neuroscience Nurses (BANN) in 1998. Our Equality & Diversity statement »